We are adopting! Wow!! The things God did in my heart to bring me to this point amaze me daily. afa99dbabd0dde33917092f264b1b153

Adoption is something we have talked about since we got married. Jc has always said he wanted to adopt and I would always agree and say “yeah let’s do it,” thinking we never would. When we were newlyweds we agreed we would have 4 children, close together and then be done. Since Kenzie was born in December 2013, I had it settled in my heart that our family was done. We would move out of the no sleep, baby phase and just enjoy watching our children grow.

About 6 months after Kenzie was born JC started asking me to pray about more children. I responded with, “I prayed about it 5 years ago, God said 4, I’m done!” He asked me to pray about it again and I decided to do it even though I didn’t think it would do any good. Slowly, ever so slowly God began to change my heart. Isn’t it funny how He will do that when we seek Him?! After several weeks I was ready. I could see myself carrying another child. I envisioned the excitement of a positive pregnancy test, the suspense at the gender reveal, the waiting and complaining towards the end and then the total joy of bringing a new life into the world. I told JC I was ready to add another blessing to our family, let’s go for it.

About 2 days later he brought up adoption. I thought, “I had just gotten used to the idea of a 5th child, now he is going to throw this at me?!” I promised him I would pray about it but didn’t think it would do any good. Man did God ever work in my heart! I started looking at statistics like this: In the U.S. 397,122 children are living without permanent families in the foster care system. 101,666 of these children are eligible for adoption, but nearly 32% of these children will wait over three years in foster care before being adopted. That is mind blowing! I also started digging into my Bible and found verses like this: “And whoever welcomes one child like this in My name welcomes Me.” Matthew 18:5 Also this: “Assyria shall not save us; we will not ride on horses and we will say no more, ‘Our God,’ to the work of our hands. In you the orphan finds mercy.” Hosea 14:3

God also started revealing to me that adoption is one of the most vivid and practical representations of what He did for us! He saved us!! He rescued us when we had no family and could not save ourselves. He gave us a forever family! He paid the cost for us to have life in Him. He is our Father.

I felt God changing my heart and pulling me to obey Him but what about the money?!! Adoption is a VERY expensive process. What about all the paperwork? What about all the waiting? What about our children accepting this new baby as their sister? My logical brain could not comprehend how we could possibly do it. One night JC and I were praying together and I started praying for our Kylie Ann by name. Tears started flowing that I could not control. Then I started praying for her birth mother and the brave decisions she would have to make and the tears started flowing even more until I could barely speak. At that moment I knew this is what God was calling us to do. There was such an overwhelming peace that past all my understanding. My brain no longer worried about the logistics because I knew in my heart God would prove Himself faithful yet again as He has done time and time again in the past! I knew we would need to step out on faith even if we didn’t have all the answers. I knew that giving this sweet, precious baby girl a family was no longer simply a great idea, it was a calling!

Kylie Ann Groves, I don’t know when… But, I cannot wait to meet you! I know God has placed a special calling on your life and I cannot wait to see how you will impact this world for Jesus through your story. Your brothers and sister are so excited about you! Your brothers ask when you will be here nightly. I can’t wait to be your mama!

This is the one and only song that JC And I have been singing together for 9 years now. Awesome that this is the song we have been singing as God has been preparing both of our hearts with the truth of these lyrics!

Listen and enjoy!